The Journal of Family Practice:

John Hickner, MD, MSc
University of Illinois at Chicago

Associate Editor
Richard P. Usatine, MD
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (Photo Rounds)

Assistant Editors

Doug Campos-Outcalt, MD, MPA
University of Arizona

Rick Guthmann, MD, MPH
Advocate Illinois Masonic Family Medicine Residency, Chicago

Robert B. Kelly, MD, MS
Fairview Hospital, a Cleveland Clinic hospital

Gary Kelsberg, MD, FAAFP
University of Washington, Renton

Corey Lyon, DO
University of Colorado, Denver

Kate Rowland, MD, MS
Rush-Copley Medical Center, Chicago

E. Chris Vincent, MD
University of Washington, Seattle

Editorial Board

Frederick Chen, MD, MPH
University of Washington, Seattle

Jeffrey T. Kirchner, DO, FAAFP, AAHIVS
Lancaster General Hospital, Lancaster, Pa

Tracy Mahvan, PharmD
University of Wyoming, Laramie

Michael Mendoza, MD, MPH, MS, FAAFP
University of Rochester, New York

Fred Miser, MD, MA
The Ohio State University, Columbus

Kevin Peterson, MD, MPH
University of Minnesota, St. Paul

Michael Raddock, MD
The MetroHealth System, Cleveland, Ohio

Michelle Roett, MD, MPH, FAAFP, CPE
Georgetown University Medical Center, Washington, DC

Kate Rowland, MD, MS
Rush-Copley Medical Center, Chicago

Linda Speer, MD
University of Toledo, Ohio

Jeffrey R. Unger, MD, ABFP, FACE
Unger Primary Care Concierge Medical Group, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif


Santina J. Wheat
Santina J. Wheat, MD, is a family physician at Erie Family Health Center in Chicago. She is also program director of Northwestern's McGaw Family Medicine residency program at Humboldt Park, Chicago.

David Abend
Dr. David S. Abend is on the faculty of UMDNJ-Rowan University School Of Osteopathic Medicine in Stratford, N.J. He is board certified in Family Practice and osteopathic manipulative medicine.

Harold Betton
Dr. Harold B. Betton is in private practice in Little Rock, Ark., and is on the advisory board of the Arkansas Primary Care Research Collaborative for Clinical Quality Improvement. His research areas of interest include hypertension and receptor blockers, as well as diabetes mellitus.

Tina Brueschke
Dr. Tina Brueschke is in private practice in Elburn, Ill. Dr. Brueschke completed her residency at the University of Chicago-MacNeal Family Practice Residency Program in Berwyn, Ill., and received her medical degree from Rush Medical College in Chicago. In addition to her practice, Dr. Brueschke serves on the governing council of the Kane County Medical Society and as a new physician director on the Illinois Academy of Family Physicians' board of directors.

Neil S. Calman, MD, MMS, is president and chief executive officer of the Institute for Family Health and is Professor and Chair of the Alfred and Gail Engelberg Department of Family Medicine and Community Health at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the Mount Sinai Health System. both in New York. Dr. Calman is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and also serves on the editorial advisory board of Family Practice News.

Gretchen Dickson
Dr. Gretchen M. Dickson is in her final year of residency at the University of Missouri, Kansas City. She also is pursuing a master's degree in business administration in health care leadership for physicians from Rockhurst University in Kansas City. Dr. Dickson received her medical degree from the University of Pittsburgh. She serves as a liaison on the American Academy of Family Physicians' Commission on Education, and is a resident representative on the AAFP's Board of Trustees.

Theodore Ganiats
Dr. Theodore Ganiats is professor and interim chair in the department of family and preventive medicine at the University of California, San Diego. He also is the executive director of the UCSD Health Services Research Center. Dr. Ganiats attended UCSD, where he completed both his medical degree and his family medicine residency.

Warren Jones
Dr. Warren A. Jones is a family physician and retired captain in the U.S. Navy. He is a distinguished professor of health policy and a senior health policy advisor at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson. He has served as executive director of the Division of Medicaid in the office of the Governor of Mississippi. Dr. Jones also is professor of family medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center and assistant clinical professor of family medicine at Howard University in Washington.

Darlene Lawrence
Dr. Darlene Lawrence is assistant clinical professor of medicine at the Georgetown University/ Providence Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program in Washington. Dr. Lawrence previously was in private practice at Imani Health Care and at Providence Health Services, both also in the District of Columbia.

Carolyn Lopez
Dr. Carolyn Lopez is a professor in the department of family medicine at Rush Medical College in Chicago. She previously was the chair of the department of family practice at John H. Stroger Jr. Hospital of Cook County. Dr. Lopez was the first women and the first minority physician to be elected president of the Illinois Academy of Family Physicians.

Robert Rakel
Dr. Robert E. Rakel is a professor of medicine in the department of family and community medicine at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Rakel has edited several books, including "Conn's Current Therapy" (1995) and the "Textbook of Family Medicine" (7th edition).

Tillman Farley
Dr. Tillman Farley is the medical services director of Salud Family Health Centers, a migrant/community health center with clinics across north and northeast Colorado, and an associate professor in the department of family medicine at the University of Colorado. Dr. Farley graduated from the University of Colorado School of Medicine and completed a family medicine residency in upstate New York. His research and teaching efforts are focused on integrated primary care, health disparities, community health, and improving care to Mexican immigrants.

Peter Toth
Dr. Peter P. Toth is the director of preventive cardiology at the Sterling Rock Falls Clinic in Sterling, Illinois. Dr. Toth, who is also a PhD, is a clinical associate professor at the University of Illinois in Peoria and at Southern Illinois University in Springfield. Dr. Toth is coeditor of "Comprehensive Management of High Risk Cardiovascular Patients."

Russell White
Dr. Russell D. White is professor of medicine in the department of community and family medicine at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, where he is director of the sports medicine fellowship program. He helped author the American Diabetes Association's consensus statement on Activity and Exercise in Type 2 Diabetes and is on the writing committee for Exercise and Activity in Type 1 Diabetes.

Colette Willins
Dr. Colette Willins practices family medicine in Cuyahoga Falls and Westlake, Ohio. She also is a clinical instructor in the department of family medicine at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. Dr. Willins has served as an alternate delegate and then as a delegate representing the American Academy of Family Physicians at the American Medical Association's House of Delegates.

Last updated February 23, 2021